Skip to main navigation.

About Us

Since 1937, St. Croix Electric Cooperative has been working to serve our members in rural St. Croix County, Wisconsin. Starting with the vision of area farmers to bring electricity to the countryside, St. Croix Electric now employs 27 office and operational staff members, serving more than 11,000 accounts.



To enhance the lives of our members and strengthen the communities where they live by providing superior electric and other valued services.



To be the provider of choice, using advanced technology in the delivery of energy and diversified services. We will offer a competitive, reliable, constant source of electricity for our customers, while adhering to the Cooperative principles.



To power our community, while empowering our members to improve their quality of life.

The links below will provide some background information on our member-owned Cooperative:

Articles of Incorporation & Bylaws  
Billing Options
Board of Directors
Co-op FAQ
Equity Capital Credits
Owner's Manual 
Touchstone Energy Cooperatives

Touchstone Energy is a national alliance of nearly 750 local, member-owned electric cooperatives that do business with integrity, accountablility, innovation, and commitment to community. St. Croix Electric members are invited to take advantage of the services available on the Touchstone Energy website at


Lighting the Landscape: Illuminating the ways of life before and after electricty arrived in St. Croix County, Wisconsin (2012)
       By SCEC Member Carol Johnson with living history contributions by Bill Hoffman, Wayne Willink & Miles Wittig

         In Commemoration of the Cooperative's 75th Anniversary (1937-2012)

Cooperative History (as published in the April 2012 Annual Report)
Brief History of St. Croix Electric Cooperative (2006)

St. Croix Electric Cooperative General Managers

General Manager Term
William Rutzen 1937-47 (11 years)
David Rodli

Jan. 1, 1948-Feb. 19, 1965 (17 years, 1 month, 19 days)
suffered a fatal heart attack

Don Somsen March 1, 1965-June 1, 1990 (25 years, 3 months)
Steve Healy

Aug.1, 1990-Nov. 1, 1992 (2 years, 3 months)
joint appointment with Pierce-Pepin Cooperative Services

Mark Pendergast

Nov. 2, 1992-Nov. 19, 2018 (26 years)

Brian R. Zelenak Nov. 19, 2018-present


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo